The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal law that requires most employers to pay a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour to “non-exempt” employees. Most non-exempt employees are entitled to receive an overtime premium of one and one-half (1 ½) times their regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 in any given work week. Employers are required to maintain accurate time records for non-exempt employees.
“Exempt” employees are not eligible for overtime pay. Employers must be able to establish that exempt employees satisfy the salary and job duties criteria for one or more of the enumerated exemptions provided by the FLSA.
Florida’s Minimum Wage Law requires the state’s minimum wage to be adjusted (upward only) as of January 1st of any given year based on the Consumer Price Index. Florida’s minimum wage for 2013 is $7.79.